It’s Not a Fashion Statement, It’s a Deathwish

I took some time today to put together my artist statement, and to really think about what I wanted to write in it. I wanted it to be succinct and to the point, while at the same time displaying the same passion that I have for my collection. Here’s what I came up with.

ARTIST STATEMENT

I have a heart for the homeless, one that makes me strive to fight for them, and to be heard for them. I created this collection as a way to break through the cloud of negativity and misconception that surrounds homelessness, so that no one gets treated as less than human because of a difference in living situation. I wanted my designs to reflect what homeless people see on a daily bases so I chose to focus patterns and markings found on the ground. This collection has a fashion outcome, for which I chose to create men’s outerwear. I chose outwear because of its protective nature, which I thought reflected really well with the idea that I’m trying to get across, that those who are vulnerable, such as the homeless, should be protected.

Leave a Reply

