In My Time of Dying, Part 9 (I’ll stop soon, promise!)

It seems that I have an unending supply of fabric that needs to be dyed. That may have sounded like I was complaining but I’m really not, for some reason – maybe because I get to make the colours that I’ll be using? Or simply because I feel like a witch brewing her cauldron – I really love dying fabrics. And this time, I have denim!

After having made all the components for my jackets, I started to experiment with different materials; it may have seemed a bit late in the game but what the heck not! I’ve got time in which I can explore ideas for the other jackets I designed, but won’t be able to make, and I really love fabric dying, so I’m going to be doing some of that!

Cotton drill sateen, cotton sateen arian, serge wool, poly viscose hazelwood, (not forgetting down proof cotton and moleskin cotton) and now cotton denim! So many different fabrics, some for outers, some for lining, all beautiful!

I don’t know if I’ve gone of my original point of this post? Feels like it. Anyway, I successfully dyed bright and beautiful (and handmade!) colours, except for a mishap with some yellow and purple that made a lovely gross brown! And after all that dying and those beautiful colours, I put the sample on the radiator to dry, except the box radiator was taken so I used the older ones that are point at the top, well didn’t that just pretty much ruin my samples! The dye collected on the line of fabric that was draped over the top of the radiator, result in thick dark limes right across my samples pieces. Yay Courtney! Wait to think that one through.

However, I believe I may be able to salvage them with some amazingly lined up screen printing!

Leave a Reply

