Cut Me Loose

With (almost) all the of the componants for my jackets completed, Beth and I started to cut the pattern for my first jacket. I laid out the pattern pieces onto the fabric, making sure that they were all laying the right way so as to be cut on the same grain (I know what that means, but I have no idea how to implement it, safe to say that was Beth’s job). Once laid out I outlined them in tailors chalk, which is much easier from what I’ve seen on Great British Sewing Bee, where they used pins or weights to hold the patterns in place to cut them out, it was time to cut them out!

I don’t know what I expected, but I think the pattern cutting was a bit anticlimactic. I thought it would be much more exciting, and it was for a little bit, but then I was just cutting fabric, which I’ve done a lot of. I except the making of the garment, however, to be super exciting.

Leave a Reply

