Calling Occupants Of Interplanetary Craft

After my feedback I was a bit overwhelmed by the amount of things I need to get on top of, and one of the things that I really liked the idea of is bringing in some subrates that make the collection feel warmer, so I started to think about knit, and popped into the Craft Sew and Sew to pick up a few wools in colours that are in my scheme.

I then needed to learn how to knit, not a big ask, I suppose.

This called for reinforcements, in the form of my mum. Master knitted extraordinaire (maybe I’m exaggerating but if you see how fast she can knit, you’d think so too). I’ve spend the afternoon learning how to knit, and I can tell you, I haven’t felt so cack-handed in years!

img_6924

Trying to figure out how to hold the needles right!

I love knitted stuff, big chunky jumpers, tightly knitted socks, massive blankets! They exude warms that cosy-ness which is something that would slot perfectly into my collection. So on I went with trying to knit, I started with some wool I has lying around the house, and made 20 stitches so I was just making a small sample patch. I don’t know what I did wrong but a one point I ended up with 28 stitches and by then end there were a few wholes where I’d dropped some. Needless to say that I got my mum to make me a samples with the threads that matched my colour scheme.

Using three different needled sizes, 10mm, 7mm and 4mm, I’ve got samples of different size, different colour and of varying degrees of skill! I do however really like the idea of adding knit into my collection, especially as a really cozy jumper that can be layered under my jacket and reinforces the idea of warms and protection.

(I’m not against buying a jumper and dying it the colour I want either!)

img_6939

 

Leave a Reply

