Details in the Fabric

One idea I had for making more ‘rusty’ fabrics samples was to paint onto of fabrics. I already had fabrics dyed in various shades of orange so I took down, started mixing colour and after damping the fabric, went at it.

I used stripes of different colours down the fabrics and then blended them in with a wet brushes so that they weren’t obvious stripes. I’m not sure that the fabrics look any more like rust that they did before but the definitely have colour fluctuations now.

I haven’t forgot what kiereine said about making a rust dye bath, but after having googled it, I cannot find anything on making a dye bath from rust, only wrapping rusted objects into the fabric before dying.  i plan to research further but for now I think I need to focus on design ideas and development and not jumping straight into the making process.

img_6916

Leave a Reply

