Artificial Red

On Tuesday I spend the day creating some more gradient/ombre dye samples because I want happy with how dull the colours were on the first batch. I tried different bye baths, using a orange and purple to make a gradient from a light orange into a deep red, and also used a bright red dye bath to make the colours on the fabrics brighter, which I really loved. My favourite sample was from combining a pale brown colour, which I then created a gradient with in a bright red dye bath, before coming to a new gradient to create a lovely deep red from a dark purple dye bath.

I really love being able to know how to mix colours in a dye lab and how to combine the results to make new colours. I have really loved experimenting with dying this term, maybe a bit too much, but I’m so glad that I decided to create the colours for my garments myself.

Leave a Reply

