Paint it Black

Something I touched on earlier was about taking a step away from thinking about what I will be producing for my degree show, and just focus on designs and experimenting and making samples of my textiles.

postcard-image-1

I’ve started with paintings of general ideas, which I turned into a dye sample. The one painting is much more expressive and organic, while the dye sample is much smoother and I don’t know, I feel like something is missing. I created a smooth ombré from one colour to another and then another but I don’t know what to do with that. I like the expressive marks of dabbing with a sponge to create the illusion of bricks, so maybe I can do this on to of the dying? I honestly don’t know. I created these painting so that I had an idea of what I wanted to do on the actual fabrics but it’s turning out to be a bit confusing to me because the results that were so quickly made with the brush isn’t easily replicated on fabric – it’s much less natural and organic once it’s something I’m trying to purposely make.

 

Leave a Reply

