Ice Dye on the Highway

Today I experimented with ice dying in an attempt to recreate one of my photographs from around the city, into a fabric sample. I was super excited because I thought for sure this was going to be amazing and work amazingly and just be all amazing. And to be fair it did give me an idea on how to maybe do it better, but I wasn’t happy with the overall result. I was trying to recreate this photo

img_1634

I wanted the fabric to be dyed in pinks, red and browns to show the colour gradient in the brick, and then I planned to gather get mesh/net fabric for the mesh pattern in the brick, or experiment with some embroidery and dissolvable (I’m still actually planning to do both of these). What I ended up with was this,

which actually looks much better in the photos than real life. I think the colours are really good, I like that soft red/pink colour and I like the darker reds and browns, I just think the actual arrangement or placement of the colours is wrong. However, I know have a plan to have a more controlled result with ice dying (does that make me sound crazy?). I’m planning to dye the fabric an overall colour, most likely that pink, then one by one, add different layers of colour through ice dying, so I still get the natural dispersed effect, just in a hopefully much more controlled manner. I have faith that this will work, and that once its coated in waterproof spray and meshy stuff it will look boss! Which means one fabric design will be done and dusted, and I’ll be able to move on to bigger and scarier things.

Leave a Reply

