The Sounds of Greeting

My greetings card has been an ongoing mission, kind of like the five year mission on the USS Enterprise, only not quite lasting so long.

It started when I was creating my gift bag, suddenly a new design popped into my head, layers and all. I considered making another gift bag with this ideas, but since I had other things on my list that needed completing before I go off and make any extras, I decided to adapt the idea so that I could use it to create a really cool greetings card.

The idea started with two layers, one with a font pattern, the other with a grid pattern. For the gift bag I was thinking about the orange grid pattern I experimented with, but for the card, I though it would be too much colour, and not enough pop, so I turned to a grey grid pattern that I had printed, and layered this with the font pattern I created, printed not black organdie (mainly because I thought they looked better together than the grid and the font pattern on the white organdie).

Then I started thinking about what this card should look like. Its not good enough to just slap a surface pattern on a card because that shows you haven’t thought about the card itself, and while I realise I have used surface patterns on my card, I’ve also combined that with a font idea that I thought of just for this card, as well as the rest of the card compositions, e.g what card I’ll use to create it, what the inside will look like, do I have a coloured paper inside, what is my box template for the inside going to look like, what colour envelope should I make to match, etc. I have very purposely been thinking about every other aspect of this card, because I know that it needs to be designed differently from the rest of the items in my collection.

The font pattern I used in the background was a design that combines both old and new slang, typed up and printed out. I then scanned this designs back into the computer, but while doing so, I moved the paper so that the writing could get distorted, like a technical glitch or a paper jam kind of effect. This effect is one that takes its inspiration  my research into 80s digital medias. So with a pattern that was both modern and retro, and a retro distortion of that design, I decided that what the card needed now what a modern slang or phrase for the writing that would be on the front.

My collection is an everyday collection so I don’t need to have any holiday or ‘happy birthday’ on the front of my card. I did however go for a phrase, or two that could easily be used to describe an outing or celebration.

Low-key / hi-key

They are modern terms, I know because I’ve been extensive googling modern slang (and wondering what the flip someone it means, but thankfully they have description included).

Low-key is to have an event thats not announced, so a small, quite gathering that could easily be a few friends coming together for a little celebration.

Hi-key is the opposite. A large gathering or party that be announced out loud so that everyone can join in.

These are two modern definition of a way to celebrate, so even though I’ve made an everyday collection, I’m still aware that this card could used for as a birthday card, or other celebration card.

I took inspiration from one of the samples I’d made earlier on, which had bright yellow embroidery on it, I was planning to do that for this card, to have my two phrases embroidered on the front as a colour pop. But then a card I’d ordered came in the post. A plain white card with black font on the front, but with neon orange paper inside. I loved it. And so my idea for my card developed further. While I was laser cutting for my tag, I also cut out my phrases from some white photo paper so that the whole front of my card would be black and white.

I then had to think about arrangement which was was whole lot of shifting letters around, taking pictures and then starting at them and asking other people opinions on which compliments the rest of the card best.

I also wasn’t through with thinking about how I could get my colour pop into my card. And the card I got in the post really helped me along. The outside of my card is black, then inside white, and then in the very middle, I have a sheet of bright yellow paper. Hows that for a colour pop! And it will be the only colour pop with the card because I’m planning to make a black envelope with a white inside, so the yellow is proper surprise when the card gets opened. I think that a pretty cool card, if I do say so myself.

Im really happy with how my collection is coming along at the moment, I’m finding it not easy, but easier to come up with ideas and designs than I usually do. Progress.

Leave a Reply

