Handle With Care (Part Two)

I’ve finally made my handles! I’ve only been speaking about them all week, and now I’ve managed to make them *happy dance*

My gift bag is basically white and pink (with some grey in there too), and I wanted my handles to really work well with the rest of the bag, but not be too overpowering. I don’t want something to say ‘did you see the bag on those handles!’. I want them to pop, and I want them to have some attention, but not to the point where I’m transfixed by these monstrous looking things emerging from the top of my gift bag.

Out of the four ideas I had for my handles, I made all four. I’ve gotten to the point where I’ve made a bag that I’m really happy with and I think works really well with the overall atmosphere of my collection, and I didn’t want that to be ruined by a pair of handles (am I thinking into these handles too much? Have I become obsessed!).

One set of handles had the same pattern as the back of the bag – and my roll wrap; another designs marries up to the samples I’m planning to use for my greetings card; another again marries up to the greetings card but also co-ordinates well with the design for my ribbon; and the last handle options was just to have a complete pink foil handle.

It wasn’t really four choices for me. I wasn’t very keen on the wholly foiled handles, it seemed to garish and a bit lazy, so I was looking towards my three patterned handles, and trying to decide a.) which would look best with the bag as a whole, and b.) which set of handles marries in with the other designs for my collection without making it seem like I’m using the same design over and over.

(I really do think I thought about these handles waaaay to much)

The pink on my gift bag is the wow factory shall we say; its the colour pop, what makes the bag stand out, and I wanted to have this on the front of the bag, as well as in the handles, but I didn’t want there to be so much pink that I just wanted to lock myself in a dark room and never look at pink again.

In the end, after taking all these different things into consideration, I chose the handles that has the least amount of pink on them (which I only realised as I wrote that sentence), but I think they work. The design I chose doesn’t match any other part of the bag, but it does marry with the greeting card I’m going to make, albeit in different colours, and I think it works better for not being the same as anything else on the bag.

I think that the limited amount of pink on the handles makes it that much more interesting, as does the way that the pattern isn’t fully formed as its quite patchy (which was on purpose, just saying). What is quite interesting, now I’ve actually out the handles on the bag is the contrast between the organdie fabric and the acetate bag itself. I can’t explain it very well but it makes you notice just how different both materials are.

I love my gift bag, just incase that didn’t come across in the obsessive way I’ve been trying to make the perfect handles! I think its really interesting and really fits into my theme. I think its evident that I’ve been relying on my mood boards to help me which is exactly what I should be doing. All I need to know about this collection should be on those boards and the fact that I can see how all most all of my collection is going to unfold, is pretty good, I think. It means that I’ve found good concept for this project and Imo noting having any difficulty relating to it. *yay*

Leave a Reply

