Don’t Let’s Present

Today was the day.

The day where I/G were coming into the studio.

The day of presentations and feedback.

Its safe to say that I was nervous this morning. I came into the studio, got called off into my group, which happened to be the group that was presenting to Sarah, the boss man of I/G.

I got to go first, which I think was a good thing. I didn’t have to watch anyone else present before me, so I didn’t have any epic standard to live up to, ‘cause lets face it, my presentation skills are just plain bad. Not as bad as they were, which was horrific, but still a on the ‘meh’ side of things. Well not today! *fist pump* today I was cool and relaxed, I was a bit ‘oh dear lord what do I say!’ around minute four, but then I took a breath and continued, only for the alarm to sound, praise Jesus!

To be honest, I don’t think I did terribly, I was given good feedback on my presentation skills; I kept eye contact and I spoke slowly and cohesively, which is always a plus. I don’t think anyone likes presentation but I know I really don’t, then only thing that made me calmer, was knowing that what I was speaking about was my work. Even if I said something wrong, they wouldn’t know, because no body knows my work, better than I do; and that was a really calming thought.

Overall, Sarah and Irene were happy with what I had presented them, besides my mood boards.

I picked a great client, and I really thought about that client when designing, and it showed. The age range I chose, was appropriate for my collection, as was my chosen market.

They liked my idea of using black and grey with just bits of colour, and they told me that I could go even further with this, having more black and white and just tiny pops of colour that really made the designs stand out.

I got suggests on different materials to add in, but overall they really loved the materials and process I have chosen to use; albeit with the suggestion of using laser cutting –  which I super looking forward to experimenting with! (Once I re-learn how to use it).

I am so pleased with the feedback I got from Sarah and Irene; only a bit daunted by the idea that in the past, Sarah has been really happy with collections at this point, but then they lost there direction. I do not want to lose my direction.

I plan to keep with my ideas and just expand on them. I’ve created new, and professional looking mood boards that will help me keep on track of where I am going. I have really focused on my client, looking into the langue they use and then come of the most popular style trend therein, but I’ve also stuck to some of the idea I love, like having designs that purpose glitched, or made to look wrong. I’m happy to think that the things that I really like about my collection, are things that match with client profile. Not that theres any part of my collection I don’t like!

Now it time to experiment some more while refining my ideas.

Onwards James! and don’t spare the horses.

Leave a Reply

