I Want To Know What Print Is

Today I didn’t really have any clue what I was going to do. I thought about it all weekend but I just couldn’t seem to wrap my mind around what it was it wanted to be doing today.  I took all my samples that I created on Friday and brought them, and loads of artist research I had done, into the studio. I think I was hoping that the studio might be able to inspire me someway, or maybe just help to give my through/ideas direction, but as I turned out, it was a fellow student who gave me an idea, over a conversation about skrim nontheless.

I spend my day in N-block making collagraph plates and printing them. I made a few quick plates to see wether I liked this idea and wether I want to explore it further.

What I really liked was one sample I created, where I had stitched a few letters into the fabric before securing It to the plate and shellac-ing. The fabric printed a really lovely textural background to the stitching which was had a very D-I-Y feel.

I think I do want to further explore looking into collagraph; I plan to spend tomorrow afternoon making plates to print on Wednesday afternoon. While on Friday I plan to go into the print studio to create more samples before going into stitch and experimenting with hand and machine stitch.

img_5602

 

Leave a Reply

