Acetate, Metal and Wood Oh My!

This morning I was thinking about what surfaces I wanted to print on. Paper is easily available but after the first few samples, it can get a bit boring. Don’t get me wrong, I’m a paper lover! I love a good piece of card on any day, but for my collection, I want to experiment (!) and I want it to be different.

I don’t know what made me think of it but I suddenly had a really interesting idea, why don’t I print on acetate.

I went on a screen printing course last year before Christmas and in order to make sure your paper lined up with the print, they did a test print onto acetate (incidentally, Steve did this on Monday I was just too busy lino cutting to notice!). So already I knew that it was possible to print onto acetate, but why not do it purposefully, as a design rather than a guide? With this little adventure in mind I went to find Steve for reckon.

Not only do I now have acetate to print on, I also have a cloudy acetate material; along with the prospect of printing onto foil sheets, laser cutting glass tiles, black acrylic and wood! Now tell me that doesn’t sound exciting?! I plan to take every aspect of my theme seriously, that includes the mirrored and metallic surfaces, as well as the high contrast monotones and bold bright colours –  as well as hand printing.

Leave a Reply

