Top Drawer ’16

Yesterday I took the long, long … long (!) trip up to London. Why i hear you ask? because Top Drawer is on!

Top Drawer is a trade event where designers and makers come together to showcase their products, and for a student like me, its practically heaven. Especially the stationer section *drool*.
img_5153

Up and down the isles of stationery I went, tackling it supermarket style, to make sure that no stand was left unvisited. Once I got past the whole ‘I’m surrounded by stationery! my life is complete’ stage of my visit, I then started looking for inspiration. Not only for inspiration but also layout and packaging.

For our International Greetings brief, I’m almost completely sure that I have to also explore ways of packing and display, and if not, this has seriously helped my ideas when it comes to my degree show displaying.

We all know I love typography, and while yes, I did flee straight to designer which used lots of lovey fonts, I also looked at patterns, colour-ways and co-ordinating designs, and how the designers displayed these, and promoted them within their stands.

I think overall, besides getting to send the afternoon surrounded  by paper goods, Top Drawer has really helped my with thinking about professional standards; how to package and present, and also on the merits of displaying and how to properly advertise (with brooches and information cards) interestingly.

While I was there, I came to the stall of Sort Design, where they had a old letterpress machine up and running (to say I wanted to make off with it my bag wouldn’t be a lie)  where people where able to print an already set up design, using this letterpress, which also doubled as their business card. Now if that not a great idea, I don’t know what is. But it’s safe to say, these great ideas will be sticking with me and hopefully influencing some of my ideas.

Leave a Reply

