Minerals Samples

I think it’s fair to say that that my passion lies with printing; any form or type, on paper or on fabric, anything, I love it. I don’t think that’s about to change any time soon, but what I’ve noticed recently is that I’ve been concentrating more and more on my printing, and not creating samples from stitch, which is an equally big part of my course. So, in light of this, I decided to try out some free machine embroidery.

I’ve looked through many images of mineral over the past two months and their main trait is that they are quite abstract. While this will be a good trait for printing, I’m not so sure that it’s a good trait to try and translate into stitch. I was having quite a difficult time, looking through these mineral images and trying to think of how I could translate them into stitch. Agate are made up of banded lines which would be really great to use with the cording foot, but because i have already done something with agate quite recently for this project, I didn’t want to go back to the same minerals so fast, considering how many minerals there are in the world. I then created a ‘Mineral Database’ of a few of the main kind of minerals that I have looked into, and from this I found dendrites.

  
  Mainly found in sandstone, as well as Chinese Picture stones, dendrites are black fissures in the stone which, when magnified, have the shape of delicate trees. I thought that this would be the perfect thing to start my stitch samples with.

I then started to think how I could apply these stitches into my final designs. I plan for my prints to be quite abstract, and was wondering how I would be able to add maybe these dendrite stitches, or stitch effects that will compliment the designs I’m working on.

Leave a Reply

