15th May Digital Workshop

Having many different tutorials over the last few digital workshops, today we were given the task of just drawing, for the whole lesson we were given free reign to draw whatever we liked on illustrator, the only condition was that we only used one told, the pencil tool. I selected images that I though embodied most all at the aspects that I have been looking at in my theme. I started by creating a new layer so that I would still have the original copy of my image, and then started to draw. I selected which insect in my image I wanted to draw, and started to draw round the butterflies pattern instead of drawing outlines, so that I could change the colours within each section without ruining the whole drawing. 

Keeping in mind the colours that I chose on my colour board, I then started to fill the different sections of the butterflies/beetles with either there natural colours, which would have corresponded with my colour theme, or with colours that I had chosen in my colour board. Putting each different sections of the drawings on different layers make it much easier to hide the different section so that I can still draw from the original image below.Screen Shot 2015-05-19 at 10.40.21

Screen Shot 2015-05-19 at 10.40.27

For each different insect I drew they had a different place within the pattern I was creating, staring in the center and then spiraling outwards, until I was happy with the look of what I had created. Inspired by the work we were doing in today’s workshop I decided that I wanted to carry on. Once I got home I opened up my illustrator, and after selecting a new image, started the process over again with the different layers and the different stages of drawing, creating a wholly new pattern that still embodied my theme. This time I used an image of a goliath beetle, zooming in as close as I could go so that I could draw the delicate patterns that are on its shell. Once I had the beetle completely drawing I then started to experiment with patterning making, changing the opacity so some of the pattern would be much lighter than the original.

Screen Shot 2015-05-19 at 10.38.41

Screen Shot 2015-05-19 at 10.38.21

I love both of the patterns that I had created, again making sure that I’ve been using colours that were on my colour board, or really near to so that I’m not changing the colours that I wanted, or changing the ideas that I have been creating surrounding my theme. I really like suing illustrator which I never through would happen, I was so bewildered at the beginning of the module, having never used Photoshop or illustrator but now I’ve come to accept and really like the process of creating using digital methods.

Leave a Reply

