Worth Global Style Network

WGSN is a global style network filled with trend predictions, reports, images and just plain goodness. Yesterday while in our digital workshop, Jenny from the library came to see us to introduce us to WGSN. We were shown how to create our own account so that we could access this pot of gold on any computer and boy have I been. To help me in this module I’ve been looking through this website almost non-stop since I found it. Having chosen scanned memory I’ve been looking through the trend reports to see if I could find any imagery or anything really to spark another little kernel of inspiration in my mind.WGSN

As I went through the trend reports I looked for many different things; I was looking for anything to influence my ideas on nature and insects, as well as sustainable materials and dyes and anything friendly to the environment, and I did not leave empty handed. I found loads of images and information that I found really help. Screen Shot 2015-05-08 at 12.31.27 Screen Shot 2015-05-08 at 12.30.47 Fashionably Natural Eco Dyes Natural Vs Manmade

After gathering all the images I started to play around with making another mood board. I’m not going to lie, I’ve come to really enjoy making mood boards and I can’t get enough of them. So once I found images that matched the ideas that I have for my theme I started to create a mood board. One thing I did notice while I was looking in the WGSN website was most all of the trend boards, they had only a few select images and quite a bit of white background, whereas the mood boards I have been making are quite busy and full of images that tell the story of my theme. While I like this style of mood board I thought it would be a good learning curve to create one in a way which I wouldn’t normally think to do. Keeping this in mind I was planning to leave empty spaces in my mood board, having a white background which would really accentuate the colour in the images I have chosen, and thinking that maybe less is more. I quite like the overall look of the new style of mood bard, I think having the contrast of the white background against the dark images is very catching and does indeed accentuate the colours and imagery itself.20150508_191639662_iOS

Leave a Reply

