Artist Research – Heather Wilson

While researching artists to gather ideas and inspiration I came across Heather Wilson. She creates stunning weaving into which she incorporates found objects. The piece of work that inspired me was a combination of colours and textures and objects that to me, symbolise nature.

ee8ba43f5aed1df62d9addf4bb557e13 Once I saw this my brain went into overdrive on way in which I could create weavings that looked like this. I had never thought of adding found objects into a weaving, not that I had done much weaving beforehand. So I set about looking up on blogs the different way in which people weave and started to create my own Heather Wilson inspired piece. 20150327_120540000_iOS

My weaving sample using different textured threads, string and natural found objects.

 

Leave a Reply

