Cont. Mark-making/Collage

 

Yesterday was a busy day; I didn’t have time to post anything yesterday so I’m doing it now.

Yesterday was a continuation of sorts of the mark-making that I was creating last week, but with a twist, this week I would be combing those mark-making experiments with collage. I arrived at ready with a bag full of cardboard, imagining what i would face that day. After watching a presentation on collage, I was asked to become part of a group, and create a 3D collage. It was up to us how we wanted to make our collage 3D, whether it was all going to be 3D or whether it would be a mix of 2D and 3D.

20141006_140040787_iOS

3D collage

This was the outcome of my group; combining different materials, textures and colours. I found the task quite difficult, in as much as, I didn’t know what to do, having nothing to go from, and being ask to create something right off the top of my head. I didn’t know what to create, or how I was then going to incorporate mark-making into this 3D collage or if it would translate well into stitch. I tried to throw myself into the project, and started to look through a magazine for inspiration, and then ended up going in a completely different way from the image I had chosen to inspire me.  I tried to mix materials and textures with curves and movement. I still found what I was doing quite difficult, because I was essentially making it up as I went along, but it started to get easier the longer I threw thing into the collage. The next part of day was for us to draw from our collages. I have to say, my mind sort of seized up trying to imagine how I would draw this mess of materials.  I took photographs of the collage from different angles, zooming in on different parts that I found interesting, and then I used these photographs to draw from. I kept thinking about the marks I had made last week and how I could use those to create the lines of the image, and the detail and shading.

20141006_131216797_iOS

zoomed in photograph, focusing on the shape and the movement of the cardboard.

Looking at the different textures next to each other and seeing how they relate.

Looking at the different textures next to each other and seeing how they relate.

 

More different textures and colours working together.

More different textures and colours working together.

My first drawing was quite small and busy, so later on, I used a photocopier to blow up the image. While trying to create my first drawing I was given the suggestion of how I could incorporate more of the marks I had created last week, into the drawing I was doing now. I started by using short and longer lines as the outline of the image, and then added cross-hatching, shading and more, tightly packed lines to add depth and definition. I was also encouraged to draw more freely… another mind seizure. When I work I’m quite controlled in what I do, i don’t tend to do anything freely. I make schedules and keep order of everything I’m doing; which is that same when I draw. So inn trying to draw more freely I used my left hand because I felt quite restricted in the way I usually draw (with my right hand) and I was able to be much more expressive using my other hand, although i was still trying to control where the lines where going.

Mark-making drawing using pencil on cartridge paper.

Mark-making drawing using pencil on cartridge paper.

Drawing with left hand, using charcoal on cartridge paper.

Drawing with left hand, using charcoal on cartridge paper.

After the session, I was able to look back and think that this was quite helpful. Being able to create controlled and freely created work together would be something quite impressive for me, so I plan to continue with these drawing to see if I can combine both (maybe not straight away) but I’m definitely going to continue trying to work more freely, and also explore more materials and techniques, whilst looking at my work from different angles and viewpoints.

Leave a Reply

